Alline Cipriani wins unprecedented championship in Trans Am Series

November 16, 2018

Alline Cipriani wins unprecedented championship in Trans Am Series

TEAM RELEASE - 35-year old Brazilian driver was crowned TA3 champion of the traditional North American championship after an intense fight against the defending champion, Mark Boden

Alline Cipriani, from São Paulo (Brazil) won an unprecedented title last weekend in Daytona. She finished the 2018 season of Trans Am Series one of North America's most traditional motorsport championship, as the champion of the TA3 category driving a Ginetta G55 model, and became the first woman to do that. 

The championship had 11 races on tracks such as Indianapolis, Road Atlanta, Watkins Glen, Circuit of the Americas and Mid Ohio, and was marked by an intense competition between the Brazilian and the North American Mark Boden – last year’s champion of the series. The two drivers finished the year separated by only five points (230 to 225).

Alline Cipriani became the first female Brazilian driver to win a championship in North American motor racing and also became the first woman to win the Trans Am for the TA3 division.

"This victory is not just mine, but an entire Ginetta achievement. I would like thanks Ginetta for provide me the best GT4 car in the track, the car was fantastic the whole year and finished every race. I also would like to express my special thanks to my husband, Adolpho Rossi, who has always been my greatest motivator and has been at my side on this journey in motorsport. I also want to thank my mechanics, Ernesto Morando and Mauro Vieira, for their dedication and commitment throughout this year. They are all to be congratulated, because without them I would not have this trophy. This victory is ours, and we are all very happy with the fantastic result of our work throughout this year, which resulted in this unprecedented title", celebrated her.

Alline also received the rookie trophy of the year, once she made in 2018 her first season in Trans Am Series after two years away from the racetracks due to the birth of her son Enzo. Prior to this achievement, she had already been a Brazilian champion of endurance, and a two-time FARA champion. Throughout the season, the Brazilian faced another 26 drivers in the chase for the title and highlighted the strength of teamwork for this unprecedented achievement for Brazil.

"I never thought it could happen," said Alline. "At the beginning of the year we planned to do only a few races, but the good results began to appear and we focused all efforts to finish the season. It has been a busy year, both for me and for the team, and I can say that this is a dream coming true. It was difficult to leave my baby at home to travel to the reces, but today I see that it was worth it”.

Alline reached the final race with a nine-point lead over second place on the championship, and closed the Daytona race in sixth place. Her main opponent in the title fight, Mark Boden, was fourth in this race. The traditional Florida circuit, with long stretches of full throttle, is friendly to the higher-horse-power engine of the Porsche 991 GT3 driven by Boden.

“The final round required from us a lot of strategy. We knew the difficulties we would face, and we tried to gain performance not only with a setup that privileged our speed, but also with a good racing strategy. It was a hard time, but everything went well”.

The British manufacturer Ginetta made its debut in Trans Am Series this year and won in both categories in which competed. In addition to the championship won by Alline, the brand also got the first place in the TA4 division with North American Warren Dexter (who was also the rookie of the year in his class. Ginetta also catch up the title among teams in both categories. In a debut-year, the brand got six thophys in the competition.

Those where the top 15 placed in the 2018 championship in TA3 division:

1) Alline Cipriani, 230 points
2) Mark Boden, 225
3) Tom Herb, 194
4) Dave Ricci, 168
5) Milton Grant, 157
6) Marko Radisic, 140
7) Cindi Lux, 132
8) Tim Kezman, 119
9) Randy Kinsland, 105
10) Jason Daskalos, 90
11) Dirk Leuenberger, 90
12) Larry Bailey, 55
13) Brian Kleeman, 43
14) Chris Outzen, 41
15) Carey Grant, 37

blog comments powered by Disqus