Trans Am history enshrined in Sebring Hall of Fame as Peter Gregg and Bob Tullius inducted

March 18, 2014

Trans Am history enshrined in Sebring Hall of Fame as Peter Gregg and Bob Tullius inducted

History is a powerful thing, capable of being both humbling yet simultaneously inspiring.  

It is not some closely guarded secret that Trans Am has a history unlike any other racing series on this continent.   Generations of great drivers have participated in what is appropriately called America’s Road Racing Series.  One way or another, there have always been legendary drivers, cars and rivalries throughout the Series’ history, it’s a part of the Trans Am legacy that is widely embraced in the modern paddock, and deservedly so. 

But to see that legacy in front of you, being inducted to yet another echelon of history, that’s something entirely different.  In a way, it can be overpowering to see the greats that came before, the trailblazers and forerunners of American autosport, and have all that they accomplished returned to top of mind. 

The 2014 Sebring Hall of Fame Induction was one of those moments when Trans Am’s past was on full display, front and center, for all to see. 
There were five inductees to the Hall of Fame, Bob Tullius, Peter Gregg, Vic Elford, Wayne Taylor and Brumos Racing.  Of those five, only Wayne Taylor was without a tie to Trans Am. 
The names Tullius and Gregg speak for themselves.  They are two of the more renowned champions and drivers ever to compete in Trans Am—each with their own distinct legacy to the sport. 
Tullius ushered in the Trans Am Series in 1966, claiming victory in the inaugural race for the Series, appropriately at Sebring International Raceway.  From 1966 to 1982, Tullius racked up 62 Trans Am entries, with 21 wins, 38 top-five finishes, and 45 top-ten finishes, all while claiming the Trans Am Championship twice.   He was also responsible for founding Group 44, known for their race-winning Jaguars of the 1980s—which still stands as the sixth ranked entrant in Trans Am history, with 29 wins, just two off of Penske Racing. Of course, Tullius also won the 1980 GTO class at Sebring as well. 
Peter Gregg raced with Trans Am from 1967 to 1979 and was a two-time Champion with 54 starts, 22 wins, 43 top-five finishes and 46 top-ten finishes.   Peter’s son, and 2012 Trans Am Champion, Simon Gregg was in attendance to accept the induction on his father’s behalf.  Together, Peter and Simon remain the only father-son duo to win Trans Am Championships to this day.  
Gregg’s team, Brumos Racing, was also inducted into the Hall of Fame as well; Brumos has its own legacy in Trans Am, with 18 wins, ranking 8th for all time entrant wins.   Accepting was former Trans Am Champion Hurley Haywood, who participated in 31 Trans Am races from 1974 to 1988.  Haywood had a total of 6 wins, 18 top-five finishes and 21 top-ten finishes in his Trans Am career and won the 1988 Trans Am Championship with Audi. 
Vic Elford was also inducted into the Sebring Hall of Fame.  And while his Trans Am career is not quite that of Gregg or Tullius, honestly few are, it’s still quite impressive.  From 1970 to 1971, he participated in seven races, with four top-five finishes and one win at Watkins Glen in 1970 driving a Camaro (Over 2).   He won the 1971 12 Hours in a Porsche 917 with Gerard Larrouse and finished second in 1968 as well.    
Each party’s induction is a significant moment and great achievement at one of the country’s most famous race tracks as participants in one of its most prestigious events.  Their legacy is not in just Trans Am, but all of motorsports, and now it’s on display as a part of the Sebring Hall of Fame. 
All of it combines as a welcome reminder of the greatness of Trans Am’s past and a hint of what its future holds.  
The Trans Am Race Company and Trans Am Series congratulate Bob Tullius, Peter Gregg, Vic Elfrod, Wayne Taylor and Brumos Racing on their entry into the Sebring Hall of Fame and thank them for their contributions to the world of motorsports.  
blog comments powered by Disqus