On This Day in Trans Am History: June 30, 2001

June 30, 2020

On This Day in Trans Am History: June 30, 2001

June 30, 2001

Paul Gentilozzi drove to victory at Cleveland’s Burke Lakefront Airport temporary circuit to capture his third-consecutive triumph of the Trans Am Series presented by Pirelli season.

Driving the No. 3 Johnson Controls/Homelink Jaguar XKR, Gentilozzi beat the No. 58 Trenton Forging/Soenen Motorsports Ford Mustang of Stu Hayner by 4.047 seconds. Johnny Miller rounded out the podium in the No. 64 AutomationDirect.com/Cutler-Hammer Jaguar XKR, followed by Tommy Archer in a Dodge Viper and Lou Gigliotti in a Corvette.

Gentilozzi captured the pole, but Brian Simo got the jump from the outside of the front row in the No. 88 Tommy Bahama Qvale Mangusta and led the opening 31 laps. Gentilozzi regained the lead on lap 32 and paced the final 16 circuits.

Current Trans Am contender Tomy Drissi finished seventh in the No. 15 TDM Motorsports Jaguar XKR and earned the MSD Hardcharger Award. Simo placed sixth and took BMF Take Control honors.

Gentilozzi went on to win four of the 11 races and captured the championships by 32 points, with Simo and Miller tied for second.


PHOTO: Paul Gentilozzi is pictured in his winning Jaguar at the 2001 Trans Am race in Cleveland. Mark Windecker photo


blog comments powered by Disqus