On This Day in Trans Am History: June 2, 1991-June 3, 1990

June 3, 2020

On This Day in Trans Am History: June 2, 1991-June 3, 1990

June 2, 1991/June 3, 1990

Irv Hoerr scored back-to-back victories at the Addison (Texas) Airport temporary circuit in 1990 and 1991, driving two different Oldsmobiles in Trans Am Series presented by Pirelli.

Hoerr was near perfect in the 1990 Pontiac Grand Prix of Dallas. The Peoria, Illinois driver was awarded the pole (79.876 mph), set the fastest race lap (78.405 mph), led twice for 32 of the 80 circuits, and beat Tommy Kendall to the checkered flag by 24.53-seconds after 125 miles of racing.

“The car just hummed all day long,” said Hoerr, driving the No. 15 A/C Rochester Oldsmobile Cutlass Supreme fielded by his father, Rudy Hoerr. It was Hoerr’s fifth career victory.

Kendall turned in fast qualifying time of 80.171-seconds in the No. 01 ICI/Olivetti Chevrolet Beretta, but lost his lap when he failed to file his mandatory “car declaration” two hours before the session.

Both Rocketsports Oldmobile drivers managed to lead the race, with the start delayed by an electrical storm. Darin Brassfield took the lead when Hoerr made his mandatory pit stop on lap eight and led the next 27 circuits before retiring with mechanical problems. That gave the lead to Paul Gentilozzi in the Budweiser Olds, who led 21 circuits before being passed by the charging Hoerr. With his brakes failing, Gentilozzi finished third, followed by Max Jones in the Whistler Ford Mustang and Wayne Akers in his Ford Mustang.

The 1991 race proved to be even more competitive, with six drivers exchanging the lead seven times. Again, it was Hoerr at the checkered flag. Now driving Gentilozzi’s No. 5 Rocketsports/Olivetti Oldsmobile Cutlass, Hoerr beat teammate Darin Brassfield by 5.7999-seconds.

Scott Sharp won the pole in the No. 33 Duracell Camaro (81.029 mph), and led the opening four laps before being passed by Hoerr. Les Lindley in the No 8 Barnard/FSI Camaro, Greg Pickett in the No. 3 Champion Nutrition Camaro and Ron Fellows in the No. 4 AER/MacKenzie Ford Mustang took turns out front before Hoerr took over and led the final 15 circuits – setting the fastest race lap along the way.

Pickett finished third, followed by Jack Baldwin in the No. 28 Skoal Camaro and Rob Sobey in the No. 55 Mobil 1 Camaro.

The 1991 event marked the third – and final – visit for Trans Am to the Texas circuit.

PHOTO: Irv Hoerr drove his father’s Oldsmobile in 1990/Mark Windecker

blog comments powered by Disqus