On This Day in Trans Am History:

April 1, 2020

On This Day in Trans Am History:

April 1, 2000:

The new millennium of Trans Am Championship presented by Pirelli competition continued with Round 2 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Brian Simo, driving the Tommy Bahama Qvale Mangusta, ran down polesitter Paul Gentilozzi’s Jaguar XKR and won by 0.689 seconds. It was the second-straight victory for Simo, who won the season opener at Sebring.

Simo started second and ran behind Gentilozzi for the opening 12 laps in the 44-lap contest. Stu Hayner then passed both Simo and Gentilozzi to take the lead, with Simo following Hayner to take second. Simo then passed Hayner on a restart and led the final 18 circuits, although challenged by the Jaguar driver in the losing laps. Hayner crashed out with 14 laps remaining.

The 36-car field included current competitors Tomy Drissi (fifth), Jon Leavy (10th) and Simon Gregg (14th), plus broadcaster Chris Neville (fourth), Bob Ruman (11th) and legends John Paul Jr. (21st) and Willy T. Ribbs (26th).

This was Trans Am’s lone visit to Charlotte’s superspeedway/infield road course, then known as Lowe’s Motor Speedway.


Read more on Trans Am history here- http://gotransam.com/about/Our-History/59342

If you would like to suggest an important date in Trans Am History, please email transampr@gotransam.com.

blog comments powered by Disqus