Dyson Earns Sixth Motul Pole Award of 2022 in TA Class at VIR, Debuts New Car and New Number

October 8, 2022

Dyson Earns Sixth Motul Pole Award of 2022 in TA Class at VIR, Debuts New Car and New Number

ALTON, Va. (October 8, 2022) Practice and qualifying are complete for the Trans Am Series presented by Pirelli’s TA/XGT/SGT/GT classes at the Mission Foods VIR SpeedTour at VIRginia International Raceway. Chris Dyson won the Motul Pole Award with a blazing fast lap time of 1:44.086. This is Dyson’s first race behind the wheel of the No. 16 ALTWELL CBD Ford Mustang, which is a new Ave-Riley chassis with a new number harkening back to the Dyson family’s racing legacy.

“It's fantastic to come out here with a new car and set the pole, especially when you’ve got the opposition like we do here in Trans Am,” said Dyson. “Caps off to everybody at Riley Technologies for delivering a really stunning piece of machinery. I’m really happy to have the No. 16 back on the car this weekend, it brings back a lot of great memories for us, especially here at VIR. I am just absolutely thrilled to have the ALTWELL car starting from the pole. Let’s just try to keep it there all day tomorrow.”

Boris Said in the No. 2 Technique Chassis/STEEL-IT/Weaver Dodge Challenger was second fastest with a 1:44.767, followed by Keith Grant in the No. 5 Showtime Motorsports Chevrolet Camaro with a 1:46.081. Tomy Drissi in the No. 8 Lucas Oil Ford Mustang was fourth with a time of 1:48.179, and Jeff Hinkle rounded out the top five in his No. 9 TRGDataCenters.com/NetDepot.com Dodge Challenger with a time of 1:48.289.

Danny Lowry in the No. 42 BridgeHaul/Bennett International/Pitboxes.com Audi R8 LMS was the top driver in XGT with a time of 1:58.192.

In SGT, Lee Saunders in the No. 44 LandSearch LLC Dodge Viper was fastest with a lap time of 1:55.521, followed by Milton Grant in the No. 55 Sentry Self Storage/Springhill Suites Porsche 991.1 with a 1:58.446. Aaron Pierce in the No. 26 LSI Inc./Sam Pierce Chevrolet Corvette was third with a best lap time of 1:58.627.

Billy Griffin in the No. 14 Griffin Auto Care/Sheehan’s Towing Ford Mustang was first in GT with a time of 2:02.918.

Full qualifying results can be found here.

Earlier today in practice, Dyson topped the TA charts with a best time of 1:43.721. Matthew Brabham in the No. 20 allgram Ford Mustang was second with a 1:44.123, ahead of Said with a 1:44.977. Keith Grant was fourth with a time of 1:46.023, and Ken Thwaits in the No. 5 Franklin Road Apparel Camaro rounded out the top five with a 1:46.929.

Lowry was fastest in XGT with a 1:55.570.  

Saunders was quickest in SGT with a time of 1:56.395, followed by Carey Grant in the No. 6 Grant Racing 2 Porsche GT3 Cup with a 1:56.971 and Carey’s father Milton Grant with a 1:57.808.

Griffin was fastest in GT with a time of 2:04.749.

Full practice results can be found here.

The TA race will be contested Sunday, October 9, at 1:30 p.m. ET and will be streamed live here. The broadcast of tomorrow’s event, presented by Franklin Road Apparel, will air on CBS Sports Network on Thursday, October 13 at 8:00 p.m. ET, with an encore presentation on Saturday, October 15 at 12:30 a.m. ET.


blog comments powered by Disqus