On This Day in Trans Am History: Nov. 5, 2016

November 5, 2020

On This Day in Trans Am History: Nov. 5, 2016

Nov. 5, 2016

Paul Fix scored his fifth victory of the season to take over the Trans Am Series presented by Pirelli points lead in the penultimate round of the 2016 campaign at Austin’s Circuit of The America.

“We’ve closed the gap over the last four races, and now we have the lead,” said Fix, after his second-consecutive victory. “This momentum is everything, as we’re working hard to keep it all the way to the end.”

Tony Ave Motorsports prepared the winning No. 50 StopFlex/ TheCarCoach.com/ Chevron Techron Corvette, that started the race on the pole.

Defending series champion Amy Ruman challenged Fix on the opening lap. Fix was up to the challenge, and pulled away. He led every lap, turned the fastest lap, and won by 19-seconds.

Rookie Vincent Allegretta prevailed in a four-driver battle for second, driving the No. 41 TA Sights & Sounds/Dr. Dave Corvette. Ruman took third in the McNichols Company Corvette, dropping her eight points behind Fix entering the following weekend’s finale at Daytona. Simon Gregg took fourth in the No. 59 Derhaag Motorsports Corvette.

Cliff Ebben entered the race as a title contender, qualifying second and battling near the front during the early laps. However, he retired his No. 36 Ford Mustang after 13 laps, basically ending his title aspirations.

Ernie Francis Jr. dominated TA3 until his the No. 98 Beta Tools Corvette was slowed by mechanical difficulties with three laps remaining. Tim Kezman took the victory in the No. 4 Fall-Line Motorsports Porsche 997.

In TA4, Todd Napieralski took his first victory of the season in the No. 39 Chevrolet Camaro.

Dillon Machavern won over the 22-car field in the TA2® feature.

The 102.81-mile event featured four official lead changes. The race came down to a battle between Machavern in the No. 24 Heritage Motorsports Ford Mustang and defending TA2® champion Gar Robinson in the No. 74 Pura Vida Tequila Camaro. Machavern went ahead to stay on the 25th of 30 laps, winning by four seconds.

Shane Lewis, driving the No. 72 Pura Vida Tequila/74 Ranch Resort Camaro, caught pole-sitter Machavern on the opening lap. The race then settled down to a torrid battle between Machavern and Robinson. Lewis put the second Robinson entry on the podium, despite challenges from Kyle Marcelli in the No. 96 Camaro and Lawrence Loshak in the No. 5 Camaro.

blog comments powered by Disqus