Trans Am West Coast Championship Schedule Amended

November 21, 2016

Trans Am West Coast Championship Schedule Amended

Willow Springs International Raceway to open season March 25-26

MIAMI, Fla.  [November 21, 2016] – The Trans Am Race Company has announced a change to the 2017 Trans Am West Coast Championship, presented by Pirelli, with Willow Springs International Raceway set to commence the four-race season on the weekend of March 25-26, 2017, replacing the now defunct season opener at Spring Mountain Motorsport Ranch. 

Trans Am will join the Sportscar Vintage Racing Association (SVRA), for the series’ High Desert Challenge on the Rosamond, California, based track while Trans Am will continue with its format of 100-mile sprint-format races.   

“Ultimately a change was made to a venue that better fit our drivers and racing platform,” said John Clagett, President of The Trans Am Race Company.  “With the speed of our classes, the TA class in particular, Series management felt it was best to relocate the opener rather than put on an experience that was lackluster for both our competitors and fans. In addition, we were concerned with the turnaround time for new teams—this change will allow for an additional month of preparation for our West Coast Championship participants. ”

The revised 2017 Trans Am West Coast Championship is as follows: 

Date Venue
March 25-26 Willow Springs International Raceway
April 29-30 Auto Club Speedway
July 29-30 Portland International Raceway
November 4-5 Circuit of The Americas



The Trans Am Series, America’s Road Racing Series, began igniting the passion of motorsports fans across the world in 1966 and has been home to some of the greatest names in road racing. Today, Trans Am continues to honor its legacy, while challenging the status quo in racing, through meaningful racing platforms and a driver-oriented focus. The Trans Am Series is operated by The Trans Am Race Company, LLC (TARC), through a five-year agreement in which TARC oversees the management and marketing of the Trans Am Series. SCCA Pro Racing sanctions Trans Am events and provides operations services to the Series.

Defending Champions include: Amy Ruman (TA), Tony Buffomante (TA2), Randy Mueller (TA3) and Ernie Francis, Jr. (TA4).

For more on the Trans Am Series visit, “like” Trans Am on Facebook at, or follow Trans Am on Twitter at @gotransam.

blog comments powered by Disqus