Trans Am ready for the spotlight with CBS Sports Network

January 20, 2015

Trans Am ready for the spotlight with CBS Sports Network

Agreement brings Trans Am Series to a National Television Audience

Miami, Fla. (Jan. 20, 2015) – The Trans Am Race Company has announced a multi-year agreement with CBS Sports Network, bringing the Trans Am Series to a national television audience, as part of the long-running CBS Sports Spectacular series.

“All of Trans Am is excited for this next step with CBS Sports Network,” said John Clagett, President of The Trans Am Race Company. “This is a crucial move that brings value to all of the stakeholders in Trans Am: our drivers, teams, owners, partners and, most importantly, our fans. We’re ready to show off Trans Am and are proud to now call CBS Sports Network home.”

Now Trans Am fans from across the country will see the likes of Amy Ruman, Tommy Kendall, Cameron Lawrence, Doug Peterson, Adam Andretti, Ron Keith, Simon Gregg and Wally Dallenbach, Jr., battle it out for Trans Am glory in 2015 and beyond.

Returning to the Trans Am Series’ television effort will be Rick Benjamin and Carolinas Production Group, who will handle the creation of each hour-long show, continuing a relationship that goes back decades.

“In one way or another I’ve been involved with Trans Am broadcasts since the 1980’s, and I’m genuinely excited to reintroduce the world to the new Trans Am,” said Benjamin. “What this series has become in such little time is nothing short of remarkable, and it’s time for the motorsport community to have an opportunity to experience it for themselves.”

Benjamin will also serve as play-by-play commentator and will be joined in the booth once more by Michael McDowell, who will provide color commentary.

The multi-year agreement includes a minimum of six Trans Am events telecast each year.

The CBS Sports Network television schedule kicks off on Tuesday, March 17 at 8:00 PM, ET from the Sebring International Speedway in Sebring, Fla. Additional events will be announced at a later date.

For more on the Trans Am Series visit, “like” Trans Am on Facebook at, or follow Trans Am on Twitter at @gotransam.


About The Trans Am Series:

The Trans Am Series, America’s Road Racing Series, began igniting the passion of motorsports fans across the world in 1966 and has been home to some of the greatest names in road racing. Today, Trans Am continues to honor its legacy, while challenging the status quo in racing, through meaningful racing platforms and a driver-oriented focus. The Trans Am Series is operated by The Trans Am Race Company, LLC (TARC), through a five-year agreement in which TARC oversees the management and marketing of the Trans Am Series. SCCA Pro Racing sanctions Trans Am events and provides operations services to the Series.

Defending Champions include: Doug Peterson (TA), Cameron Lawrence (TA2), Ernie Francis, Jr., (TA3 American Muscle) and Jason Berkeley (TA3 International).

For more on the Trans Am Series visit, “like” Trans Am on Facebook at, or follow Trans Am on Twitter at @gotransam.

About Carolinas Production Group:

Rick Benjamin, Principal: Rick has more than 30 years’ experience in national and local television as an award-winning anchor and play by play host. Rick has served as on-air host for the Champ Car World Series; NASCAR Cup, Nationwide, Truck Series; ARCA; the American Le Mans Series; the Grand-Am Rolex Sports Car Series; plus various short track and support series.

Carolinas Production Group Inc., based in Mathews, NC, is the production partner of record for Mazda, the American Speed Association, and MustSeeRacing’s Xtreme Sprint Series.

blog comments powered by Disqus