Trans Am Series Announces Restructure of Ownership Group

June 22, 2017

Trans Am Series Announces Restructure of Ownership Group

Jim Derhaag departs Trans Am Race Company

MIAMI, Fla.  [June 22, 2017] – The Trans Am Race Company (TARC) has announced that Jim Derhaag will depart the ownership group in order to better focus on his primary business, Derhaag Motorsports. 

The three primary partners within TARC, David Jans, Mike Miller and Tony Parella, have entered into an agreement with Jim Derhaag to equally acquire his interest within the company—seeing the three each retaining an equal share.   John Clagett and Simon Gregg will retain their minority ownership shares.   

The move comes as a continuation of recent steps within the primary ownership to remove potential conflicts of interest within the ownership group.   Mike Miller sold his championship winning TA2 team in late 2015; while, like Derhaag, Tony Ave departed the ownership in late 2016 to better focus on Ave Motorsports.   DJ Jans, a prior Trans Am competitor and car owner, sold all of his Trans Am equipment in late 2016 as well.      

“The ownership and I want to thank Jim for his dedication to the Trans Am Series over the years,” said John Clagett, President of TARC.  “It was his initial idea to form the Trans Am Race Company; and without his initiative, vision and love for the Trans Am name, I think it’s safe to say we would not be where we are today.  We applaud Jim for his decision—another step by the company and its ownership to remove what can be viewed as conflicts of interest.  Derhaag Motorsports has been a staple in the Trans Am paddock since 1981, and we look forward to his continued participation in the Series.” 

In addition to the departure of Jim Derhaag, the Trans Am Race Company is in the process of amending its bylaws to add a provision prohibiting any future owner from having ownership interests at the team or supplier level.  

Derhaag was one of the original members of the ownership group who worked to save the Trans Am Series after SCCA Pro Racing made it evident they would not continue to fund the Series upon the conclusion of the 2011 season.  Derhaag helped assemble the original ownership group of Mike Miller, Tony Ave, DJ Jans, Simon Gregg, Doug Harrington and himself, seeing the creation of The Trans Am Race Company.  

Derhaag will continue to field Derhaag Motorsports in the Trans Am Series presented by Pirelli with Simon Gregg, in the No. 59 Derhaag Motorsports Chevrolet Corvette, while running his company’s TA/GT-1 chassis construction and bodywork divisions.


About the Trans Am Series, presented by Pirelli:

The Trans Am Series, presented by Pirelli, began igniting the passion of motorsports fans across the world in 1966 and has been home to some of the greatest names in road racing. Today, Trans Am continues to honor its legacy, while challenging the status quo in racing, through meaningful racing platforms and a driver-oriented focus. The Trans Am Series is operated by The Trans Am Race Company, LLC (TARC), and oversees the management and marketing of the Trans Am Series, presented by Pirelli. SCCA Pro Racing sanctions Trans Am events and provides operations services to the Series.

Defending Champions include: Amy Ruman (TA), Tony Buffomante (TA2), Randy Mueller (TA3) and Ernie Francis, Jr. (TA4).

For more on the Series visit, “like” Trans Am on Facebook at, or follow Trans Am on Twitter 

blog comments powered by Disqus